Connect with us


NASS: NASSLAF, SPCs elect officers



Spread the love

The National Assembly on Friday witnessed two professional groups held elections for emergence of new executives to steer the ships of their organisations in the reportage of activities of the Federal lawmakers as well as efficient support services to them.

While the first group under the aegis of National Assembly Legislative Aides Forum (NASSLAF), elected nine new executive officials for fresh four years in office, the Senate Press Corps (SPC), in its own election, returned eight out of the nine executive officials for fresh two years mandate .

adsbygoogle || []).push({});

In the NASSLAF election, Mallam Salisu Zuru , the Senior Legislative Aide (SLA) to the Deputy Minority Whip of the Senate , Senator Sahabi Alhaji Yau (PDP Zamfara North), defeated Mr Patrick Okunneh, the Senior Legislative Aide to the Deputy Senate President, Senator Ovie Omo-Agege for the Chairmanship position of the Forum with 29 to 19 votes .

For the position of Secretary, Bola Adeyemo defeated Babajide Sholanke with 32 votes against 16 while Queen Peter emerged as Assistant Secretary with 28 votes .

Others elected were Adoba Rapheal Ikechuckwu as Vice Chairman, Aisha Musa as Welfare Officer, Momoh Rilwan as Treasurer from Kogi, North Central, Adebayo Adekoye as Financial Secretary, Agu Enyinnaya as Assistant Financial Secretary, Abdul Lauya as PRO 1 and Barrister Anena Anigueze as Legal officer 1.

For the Senate Press Corps, Mr James Itodo of the Radio Nigeria (Abuja Operations), was overwhelmingly re-elected as Chairman with 64 votes as against 20 votes scored by Sanni Onogu of the Nation’s Newspaper.

Also returned with wide margin of votes were the Vice Chairman, Mr Chinedu Echianu of Vision FM, Folashade Abdulsalami of the MITV as Secretary, Godfrey Eshiemoghie of the Galaxy Television as Assistant Secretary.

Others returned were Nneka Amaechi Nnadi of the Tide Newspaper as Financial Secretary , Olugbenga Salami of the Nigerian Pilot Newspaper as Treasurer, Taiye Odewale of the Blueprint Newspapers as Auditor and Mustapha Eniseyin of MITV as Welfare Officer while Ayo Oguntade of the Lagos Television.

Read Also:  CAN condemns gunmen attack on Jos Custodial Centre

Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: