Connect with us


FG inaugurates Nigerian shipper’s council governing board



Spread the love

The Minister of Transportation, Engr. Mu’azu Jaji Sambo Wednesday inaugurated the Nigerian Shippers’ Council Governing Board.

This was disclosed in a statement signed by the Ministry’s Director of Press and Public Relations, Mr Eric Ojiekwe in Abuja.

The seven-member board is charged with the responsibility of

Read Also:  Harmony Corps celebrates 7th year anniversary, appeals for presidential assent to bill

fostering an economy that is robust, transparent, accountable and in line with international best practices. adsbygoogle || []).push({});

The board is also expected to provide a forum for the protection of the interest of shippers on matters affecting the shipment of imports and exports to and from Nigeria


Sambo however, charge members of the board to liaise with the appropriate arms of the Government of the Federation and other Organizations in assessing the stability and adequacy of existing services and make appropriate recommendations.

He also urged them to deploy their expertise to promote prudence, transparency, accountability, equity and fairness in the discharge of your responsibilities, while admonishing them to be change agents by adhering to zero tolerance to corruption.

Speaking earlier, the Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani, said: “you have your roles to support the Nigerian Shippers’ Council, but you are not part of the day to day running of the Council. At some later date, we will be having a retreat where your roles will be clearly spelt out. We are planning to do it with all our Boards so that we avoid conflicts. It has become important for me to stress this at every Board inauguration for agencies of the Ministry of Transportation to avoid stress.”

Responding, the Chairman of the newly constituted Board, Lawal Sama’aila Abdullahi thanked the Federal Government for giving them the opportunity to serve, assuring that the Board will deliver on its mandate and support the Management of Nigerian Shippers’ Council to succeed.

Other board members are, Emmanuel Lyambee Jime (Secretary), Rufai Ahmed Akambi, Usen Ekong Udoh, Otunba Oluseyi Oduntan, Violet Olaitan Williams, Mohammed Allamin Kam-Salem.

Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: