Connect with us


Breaking: Senate rejects Onochie’s confirmation, 1 other



Mrs Lauretta Onochie
Spread the love

President Muhammadu Buhari’s aide, Lauretta Onochie’s nomination to serve as National Commissioner of the Independent National Electoral Commission has been rejected by the Nigeria Senate on Tuesday.

Onochie’s non confirmation followed the report by the Senate Committee on (INEC), Senator Kabir Gaya who said her nomination breaches Federal Character principles.

Read Also:  US Army to buy remote-controlled weapons from Israel's Rafael for $150 million

Kabir Gaya cited Section 14 (1) 3 of the Constitution, stating that somebody was already a Commissioner from her zone which the law was very clear.

Kabir Gaya while explaining the findings of the Committee recalled that one, May Agbamuche-Mbu from Delta was already serving, hence, Onochie’s confirmation would be injuries to fairness that is required in Nigeria.

Read Also:  2020 Budget: Senate blames self over failing economy

Also, Prof. Sani Muhammad Adam who was to represent North Central as a National Commissioner has also been rejected.

Prof. Sani rejection followed petitions which were mounted against his nomination.

Gaya however pleaded for more time for the Committee to properly look into the petition.

Those who were confirmed are:

Read Also:  Only 'beer parlour discussants' criticises Buhari for lopsided appointments - Senate Spokesman

1. Prof. Muhammad Sani Kallah – Katsina

2. Prof. Kunkle Carnelius Ajayi – Ekiti
3. Said Babura Ahmad – Jigawa
4. Dr. Baba Bila
5. Prof. Abdullahi Zuru


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: