Connect with us


Buhari appoints female NHRC, seek confirmation by NASS



President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Salamatu Hussaini Suleiman as Chairman of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC).

In the executive communication to the Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Ibrahim, which was read during the plenary on Wednesday, Buhari said the appointment was in fulfilment of the provisions of section 2(3) of the National Himan Rights Commission Act as amended.

Read Also:  Insecurity: Mrs Tinubu assures Nigerians of safety, says Buhari will not give excuses any longer

Senate leader, Senator Yahaya Abubakar Abdullahi who presented the letter said: “That the Senate do consider the request of Me. President and Commander-in-Chief on the confirmation of the nomination for appointment as Chairman and members of the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) in accordance with the provisions of section 2(3) of the National Human Rights Commission Act.

Read Also:  Retirees paid N1.3 billion in Lagos

Fifteen members who were appointed to be confirmed along with the Chairman are:

1. Mrs Beatrice Jedy-Agba
2. Amb. Umar Zainab Salisu
3. Mrs Dafe T. Adesida
4. Joseph Onyemaechi
5. Ahmad Abubakar Fingilla
6. Kemi Asiwaju-Okeyonda
7. Abubakar Muhammed
8. Femi Okeowo
9. Sunny Daniel
10. Barr. Agabaidu Chukwuemeka Jideani
11. Mrs Nella Andem-Rabana, SAN
12. Azibuike Nwakwenta
13. Jamila Isah
14. Mrs Idayat Omolara Hassan
15. Prof. Anthony Ojukwu

Read Also:  Digital Switch Over, DSO and its success story

Senate President, after the letter was read referred it to the Senate Committee on Judiciary, and Legal matters.


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:

Quick Links: