Connect with us


Breaking: Senate confirms Service Chiefs



Spread the love

Nigeria Senate on Tuesday confirmed the newly appointed Service Chiefs to replace the former ones.

President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded their names to the Senate for confirmatiion in line with the Military Act.

The confirmation followed the report by the Senate Committee on Defence which was submitted to the Senate plenary and which was satisfactorily debated.

Chairman of Senate Committee on Defence and former governor of Sokoto State, Senator Magatakarda Wamakko in the report explained that the nominees who were appointed to replace the former ones made themselves available for screening following the upper chamber’s resolution on 3rd February, 2021.

Read Also:  Next Cash & Carry fire: FCT Minister commiserates with management, vows investigation

According to him, the Committee was detailed in the screening in line with the relevant sections of the law, particularly with regards to the tendering of their documents, viz: “Educational certificates, NYSC, Code of Conduct and others.

Senator Wamakko reminded the plenary that the nominees were already in acting capacity in line with the Act that established the Nigerian military.

Read Also:  US based accuser vows to release video of ex-BBNaija Pere’s affair with Kogi First lady

“That the Senate do receive and consider the report of the Committee on Defence on the confirmation of the nomination of the following persons for appointment as Chief of Defence Staff and Service Chiefs for Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Senate James Manager representing Delta South Senatorial district supported the report, saying that they should be confirmed without delay.

According to him, he knew some of the nominees for quite sometime, stressing that they have been working hard to protect the nation.

Read Also:  Defection: Lawan under pressure to sack Abbo

They are:

1. Maj. General Lucky Eluonye Onyenucheya Irabor – Chief of Defence Staff

2. Maj. General Ibrahim Attahiru – Chief of Army Staff

3. Rear Admiral Awwal Zubairu Gambo – Chief Naval Staff

4. Air Vice Marshal Isiaka O. Amao

After the confirmation Senate President, Dr Ahmad Lawan enjoined them to take the battle against insurgents to the forest.

Lawan said Nigerians would no longer accept the incessant abduction of schools students, while he urged the military to end the menace.


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: