Connect with us


Boko Haram, ISWAP keeps mum 24 hours after appointment of new Service Chiefs



Spread the love

The Islamic Boko insurgents leader, Abubakar Shekau hasn’t reacted to the development that led to resignation of General Yusuf Buratai and other Service Chiefs that were immediately replaced by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Also, the situation being monitored by CAPITAL POST showed that the Islamic State of West African Province (ISWAP) keeps mum over the development in Nigeria’s military hierarchy 24 hours after.

Both fighters are known for media propaganda through a recorded video, but since Tuesday that President Muhammadu Buhari appointed fresh Service Chiefs, neither any of the criminal gang who have been fighting the State spoke or issue a statement through their usual means.

Read Also:  Boko Haram in Abuja: Nigerian Army assures safety of residents

The outgone Service Chiefs and Yusuf Buratai in particular who hails from Borno State spent their time in the last five years battling with Boko Haram and ISWAP insurgents.

The Service Chiefs met an escalated situation with the presence of Boko Haram fighters in Abuja, Lagos, Kaduna with attempt to infiltrate North Western part of Nigeria, detonating bombs in mosques, Churches and. Public places, but were curtailed with their operations restricted to North Eastern Borno State.

Though, there have been heavy casualties on both sides, each time there.was an encounter, Boko Haram leader, Abubakar Shekau has been famous for propaganda, probably a strategy he uses to decimate the morale of the Nigerian military.

Read Also:  Suspected Fulani herders kill farmer in Kogi

But on Tuesday, the Service Chiefs reportedly resigned immediately which were replaced by President Muhammadu Buhari.

In a statement issued by the Senior Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Femi Adesina, Buhari
accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

He immediately announced new ones who are: “Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.

Read Also:  OP HADIN KAI: Troops eliminate BH/ISWAP terrorists, capture equipment in Yobe, Borno [Photos]

Those who were replaced after their resignation and retirement are: “Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen.
Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: