Connect with us


OndoDecides 2020: APC’s Akeredolu polled 292,830 votes, defeats Jegede of PDP



Spread the love

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu has been declared winner of Saturday’s governorship election in Ondo state, having polled the highest score of 292,830 votes.

In the announcement by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Sunday afternoon, he defeated the Peoples Democratic Party candidate, Eyitayo Jegede, who got 195,791 votes, and the Deputy Governor, Agboola Ajayi, of the Zenith Labour Party, who came a distant third with 69, 127 votes.

Read Also:  Sokoto APC ready for Registration, Revalidation exercise - Chairman

Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan and Chief Returning Officer, Prof. Idowu Olayinka made the announcement at the INEC headquarters in Akure.

Olayinka said, “I hereby certify that I am the returning officer of the Ondo State election and that the election was conducted and the candidates received the following votes – Oluwarotimi Akeredolu got 292,830, Eyitayo Jegede got 195,791 and Agboola Ajayi got 69,127.

Read Also:  Tinubu an accomplished politician at 69 - NGF

“That Oluwarotimi Akeredolu secured the highest number of votes among the 17 contestants. Moreover, he was expected to score 25 per cent in two-thirds of the state but he scored it across the 18 LGAs.

“Consequently, having satisfied the requirements of the law, I hereby declare Akeredolu as the winner and he is hereby returned elected.”

Read Also:  2023: Reconcile aggrieved members, unite party structure, Makinde charges PDP exco

Though Jegede won the first LG (Ifedore) result to be announced, Akeredolu maintained a comfortable lead after 16 of the 18 LGAs’ results were announced.

Jegede won in Akure South, Akure North, and Ifedore LGAs while the Deputy Governor and Zenith Labour Party candidate, Agboola Ajayi, won none.


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: