Connect with us


APC moves to expel rebels from party, compiles list



Spread the love

Strong indications emerged over the weekend that the Governor Mai Mala Buni-led Caretaker/Extra-Ordinary National Convention Planning Committee of the All Progressives Congress was compiling lists of party members that would be expelled from party for being errant.

This is even as the APC has ignored the Chief Bisi Akande-led APC National Reconciliation Committee.

The development has not only deprived Chief Bisi Akande’s reconciliatory moves, but had treated the Committee to ‘force majure.’

Those considered as rebels who made to early list are the APC members who refused to withdraw court cases against the directive of president Muhammadu Buhari.

Read Also:  Abia by-election: IGP deploys new unit to checkmate CTU operatives

At Buhari’s directive, the party wrote to State chapters twice urging compliance, but some party who have cases in court were recalcitrant, it was learnt.

Another school of thought had it that Akande’s Committee was overrun because it was the former Narional Chairman of the ruling All Prigressives Congress, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole that constituted the Committee to reconcile aggrieved members in Rivers, Zamfara, Imo,
Edo and Bauchi States.

Read Also:  APC Chairmanship: Niger Senator may emerge - Source

Secretary of the Bisi Akande led Committee confirmed that COVID-19 pandemic stalled their inability to complete the reconciliation.

An APC topnotch told journalists in Abuja, saying: “You know the Akande-led panel has yet to start its assignment and the new caretaker committee started its six-month tenure in June. Even, if the interim committee gets a tenure extension, the Akande committee cannot complete its reconciliation because it has to go to all parts of the country. We don’t have that luxury of time.”

Since its assumption of office, the Mai Mala Buni-led caretaker committee has set up no fewer than three committees to reconcile aggrieved members in specific states.

Read Also:  Buni inaugurates 3-member Zamfara State Caretaker Committee

Among them is the reconciliation committee headed by a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, to reconcile aggrieved members in Edo State. The second one is headed by the governor of Niger State, Abubakar Bello, to reconcile aggrieved party members in Ondo State.

Buni also on Friday set up a five-member committee chaired by the Jigawa State Governor, Abubakar Badaru, to reconcile aggrieved members in Ogun and Imo states.


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: