Connect with us


Court judgement: PenCom dissolves First Guarantee Pensions’ Interim Management Committee



Spread the love

The  Nigeria National Pension Commission (PenCom)  has dissolved the management Committee of the First Guarantee Pensions Limited which was constituted in 2011 following the management crisis that engulfed the pension body.  

In a statement by PenCom’s Head of Corporate Communications, Mr. Peter Aghahowa, on Monday which was obtained by CAPITAL POST,  announced the handing over of the Pension Fund Administrator (PFA) to its reconstituted Board of Directors under the chairmanship of Alh. Kashim Ibrahim Imam.

Read Also:  Why the biggest challenge start-ups face is not access to funding

It is recalled that the PenCom appointed the Interim Management Committee on August 12, 2011 following a regulatory intervention in the PFA undertaken based on the findings of the Routine and Special examinations carried out by the Commission.

“The conclusion of the intervention was as a result of the judgement delivered by the Court of Appeal, Abuja Division on Thursday, 30 April, 2020, in the three Appeals filed by the Commission, the Attorney-General of the Federation and the PFA, against the judgment of the Federal High Court that nullified the Commission’s regulatory measures.

Read Also:  AfDB President, Adesina replies nepotism allegation, says its unsubstantiated [Details]

“The Court of Appeal’s decision upheld the appeals, thereby setting aside the judgment of the Federal High Court in its entirety. Thus, the judgment of the Court of Appeal validates the regulatory actions taken by the Commission in 2011,” the statement stated.
PenCom assured all clients of the PFA that the company has been returned to normalty.

Read Also:  Pensioners urge PenCom to implement unpaid 15% increment

“The Commission further reassures pension contributors and the general public that it is alive to its responsibility of ensuring the safety of the pension industry at all times,” it stated.

Other members of the reconstituted board include Hon. Tsegba Terngu, Hon. Ahmed Salik, Dr. Pat Asadu, and Hon. George I. Ozodinobi.


Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: