Connect with us


10th Senate Presidency: Ex-lawmakers back APC’s choice of Akpabio, Barau



Senator Godswill Akpabio
Spread the love

Some former lawmakers under the aiges of Forum of All Progressives Congress (APC) Ex-Legislators, has thrown their weight behind the choice candidates of the ruling party’s National Working Committee (NWC) for the leadership of the 10th senate.

The consensus candidates endorsed by the APC are former governor of Akwa Ibom state, Senator Godswill Akpabio (Senate Presidency) and Senator Jubril Barau as (Deputy Senate President). com/pagead/js/adsbygoogle.js">


The Ex-lawmakers made the decision after a meeting held in Abuja, to review the ongoing issues concerning the elections of presiding officers especially in the 10th Senate.

CAPITAL POST report that since the announcement of the consensus zoning arrangement and nomination of preferred candidates for the 10th National Assembly leadership by the APC, some aspirants in the two chambers have condemned it and called for immediate review.

Read Also:  2023 Presidency: TOTT, other groups drum support for Osinbajo

But briefing journalists, National Chairman of the Forum of APC Ex-Legislstors and Former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives Rt. Hon. Bababgida Nguroje, commended the party for not just zoning the position of the Senate President to the South-South but for micro zoning and identifying with, Senator Godswill O. Akpabio and Senator Jubril Barau as Senate President and Deputy Senate President respectively.

According to him, the ruling party’s preferred candidates were thoughtfully picked and meet the requirement for the specified office.

According to the Forum,”Our position and reason is not farfetched but in whole support of the Senate standing rule 3, (2) 1, 11, 111 and IV which holds that the presiding officers shall be nominated as below:
(1) A former Senator
(2) A returning or ranking Senator
(3) A new Senator-Elect in a situation where there are no ranking Senators.

Read Also:  Bayelsa governorship: Constitutional crisis looms as Oshiomole vows to stop Duoye

“It is therefore good to note that His Excellency, Senator (Dr.) Godswill Obot Akpabio (CON) and Senator Barau Jubril possess all these characteristics and qualities to lead the 10th Senate of the National Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

He said the endorsement and zoning of these principal officers for the 10th senate demonstrates the principle of
equity, inclusivity and justice which is required for responsible governance.

“In the interest of justice, equity and fairness, the forum further notes the provision of Section 14 (3) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (As Amended) which state thus:

“The composition of the Government of the Federation or any of its agencies and the conduct of its affairs shall be carried out in such a manner as to reflect the Federal Character of Nigeria and the need to promote National Unity and also command National loyalty, thereby ensuring that there shall be no predominance of persons from a few states or from a few ethnic or other sectional group in that government or any of its agencies.

Read Also:  2023: Ganduje urges Imams to pray for Tinubu as he agrees to pick Muslim running mate

“We hereby state categorically that the Akpabio/Barau ticket, the stabilization team is nationalistic and not sectional and should be seen as such. It is also reflective of one vexed issue of justice, equity and fairness that Nigerians are clamouring for.

“We appeal to our dear beloved distinguished brothers and sisters based on the aforementioned that the ethno-cultural and Federal character balance must also be taken into consideration so as to continue to encourage National Unity, fairness and progress”, he added.

Contact Us:

  • Address: Address: 1st Floor,  Nwakpabi Plaza,  Suite 110, Waziri Ibrahim Crescent, Apo,  Abuja
  • Tel: +234 7036084449, +234 8066722600, +234 7012711701
  • Email:
  • Email:

Quick Links: